Subject Libguide: Speech Communication: Public Domain Images & Creative Commons

Public Domain images don't require attribution, making them prefect for projects of all types.

• Pixabay

  Provides free, Public Domain images. (Unfortunately, it also offers Shutterstock images, which aren't free, but they're clearly labeled "sponsored images," so just ignore them.)
• Upsplash

  Provides free, Public Domain images.
• Morguefile

  A community-based free photo site.
• The Public Domain Review

  A collection of Public Domain images, books, films, and audio files. Browse by medium, time period, tag, or source.
• NYPL Digital Collections

  More than 200,000 images from the New York Public Library. When you click the search box, make sure you select "Search only public domain materials."

   

  If you can't find Public Domain images that fit your needs, you can also use Creative Commons-licensed content as long as you provide proper attribution and otherwise meet the terms of the license.

  • Wikimedia Commons

    Searchable access to Wikipedia images uploaded by users. Most of the content is available under a Creative Commons license. Licensing information is provided at the bottom of each image's individual page.
  • CC Search

    Search for Creative Commons and Public Domain content across numerous sources, including Flickr, Google, and Wikimedia Commons. To find only Public Domain images, use the Filter to select CC0 and/or Public Domain Mark.
  • Flickr: Creative Commons

    Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
  • Noun Project

    Icons and symbols under a Creative Commons license.
  • Flaticon

    More than 16,000 free vector icons.
  • PhotoPin

    This image search engine returns both Creative Commons and non-Creative Commons images. When you download any image, you can also download the necessary HTML to appropriately attribute the image to its creator.

The resources below offer access to music and other audio files in the public domain.

• Musopen

  Run by a non-profit with an aim of making music freely and openly available, Musopen provides access to public domain music and allows users to upload music that is in the public domain. The site also offers access to public domain sheet music.
• Digital History

  This resource from the University of Texas, the University of Houston and the University of Hawaii provides access to historical music that their research has indicated is in the public domain.
• The Public Domain Review

  A collection of Public Domain images, books, films, and audio files. Browse by medium, time period, tag, or source.

   

   

  If you aren't able to find a public domain audio clip that suits your purposes, there are also many resources available to find music and other sounds that have been licensed under a Creative Commons license. Below are some of the best of these tools.

  • ccMixter

    This website helps users to create and share mixes and samples that are Creative Commons-licensed.
  • Wikipedia Sound/list

    Wikipedia provides access to a wide range of music that is either in the public domain or Creative Commons-licensed. While the site indicates that the music is "free," it is important to note that this is not synonymous with "in the Public Domain," so you will need to review the license information for the music to ensure you attribute it properly.
  • Freesound

    This website makes it easy for users to upload sounds they have recorded or created and license them under a Creative Commons license. Users can choose to release their works into the public domain or select one of two Creative Commons licenses, so it is important to review the specific licensing and attribution information for each sound you plan to use.
  • Jamendo

    This service allows users to limit their searches to only music that is licensed under specific Creative Commons licenses using their Advanced Search features.
  • Opsound

    All audio files on this site are in the public domain or licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Sharealike license. You can find specific information about the license attached to each piece under the link to the file.

These tools will help you find public domain videos.

• Prelinger Archive

  This archive, which is on the Internet Archive, offers access to a large number of public domain movies and videos.
• The Public Domain Review

  A collection of Public Domain images, books, films, and audio files. Browse by medium, time period, tag, or source.

  These resources provide access to Creative Commons-licensed video content.

  • Internet Archive Stock Footage

    This site provides access to video footage licensed under a variety of licenses, including Creative Commons licenses, as well as footage in the public domain. You can limit your search to specific license types using the Advanced Search feature. For example, this search returns video content that the Internet Archive has listed as in the public domain.
  • YouTube

    YouTube allows you to filter your search results to only include Creative Commons-licensed videos. After you perform a search, click the Filter button and choose Creative Commons.
  • Vimeo

    Vimeo allows you to browse Creative Commons-licensed content and limit your search results to only Creative Commons-licensed content using their advanced filters.
  • Moving Image Archive

    This portion of the Internet Archive offers access to thousands of Creative Commons-licensed videos, which are organized into subcollections by subject.
  • WikiMedia Commons

    WikiMedia Commons offers access to videos that are either in the public domain or available under a Creative Commons license.