Additional Links
America in Class from the National Humanities Center
This websites offers collections of primary resources compatible with the Common Core State Standards — historical documents, literary texts, and works of art — thematically organized with notes and discussion questions.
Chronicling America (sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
Docs Teach provides thousands of primary source documents that span the course of American history. to bring the past to life as classroom teaching tools from the billions preserved at the National Archives. Use the search field to find written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio and video in our ever-expanding collection that spans the course of American history.
Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history
Euro Docs
This website feature sources on European history. It offers selected transcripts, facsimiles and translations on different historical periods .
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
Library of Congress-Using Primary Resources
Primary sources are the raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study. They are different from secondary sources, accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience.
Examining primary sources gives students a powerful sense of history and the complexity of the past. Helping students analyze primary sources can also guide them toward higher-order thinking and better critical thinking and analysis skills.
Life Photo Archive is a good platform to search for millions of photographs stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Add "source:life" to any Google image search and search only the LIFE photo archive.
Funded by a grant from the Library of Congress PSN provides no-cost teacher professional development to help K-12 educators provide high-quality classroom instruction using the millions of digitized primary sources available from www.loc.gov.
World Digital Library (sponsored by the Library of Congress with the support of the United Nations Educational Scientific and cultural Organization)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University, and it's mission to give every student the tools they need to be successful in the classroom. Through partnerships with philanthropic foundations and alliance with other educational resource companies, they are breaking down the most common barriers to learning.
Next Source