Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIDWESTERN CAREER COLLEGE LEARNING RESOURCE CENTER

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Ebook Central: Academic Complete

Academic Complete is a collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers. The first subscription product of its kind, Academic Complete is an ideal foundation for a university ebook collection. With coverage in all academic subject areas, Academic Complete is the solution for libraries that want to provide students at all levels and faculty with librarian-curated ebooks essential to successful teaching, learning, and research outcomes.

 HOW-TO-GUIDE

FINDING AND LOGGING INTO DATABASES

STEP 1:

Go to mccollege.edu

Under 'academics' go to 'MCC Online Library'

 

STEP 2

Under 'LRC Tools and Resources' select 'databases'

STEP 3

Two databases appear

Proquest Central: This is a multi-search database that searches over 70 databases at once.

E-book Central Academic Complete: This searches ebooks available to help support programs, students, faculty and staff. 

STEP 4

Login to the database. Please refer to the syllabus for the username and password

STEP 5

You can now begin to search

TIPS FOR DATABASE SEARCHING

 

  • Use quotation to search exact phrases 
  • Play around with your words, one meaning has multiple words: lawyer, solicitor, advocate, legal aid 
  • The database uses the author’s words. We come from different backgrounds which means we speak and write differently. 
DOWNLOADABLE FILES
ADVANCED AND BASIC SEARCHES
EBOOK CENTRAL: ACADEMIC COMPLETE TOOLS RESOURCES